Day 1: Quench Your Thirst


Two nights ago, I stumbled across some notes I took a few years ago while trying to follow a 21-day challenge by Pastor Kerry Shook. The first of the reference verses jumped at me as I read. My God. I had seen and read this verse many times before but it just became so real to me in a different way than I had always thought about it.

Jesus replied, “Anyone who drinks this water will soon become thirsty again.

John 4:13

I know what it is like to feel exhausted and even just plain empty. I have felt that many times. But reading this verse again helped me understand why. As long as we live on earth, we will always be thirsty for something: success, a great job, a great partner, and even money – lots of it. And even when we have our most basic needs met and have all the extra perks like the ones mentioned above, we will still want more, more of something. It is the way we are wired.

Now, what really caught my attention from this verse was the word “soon.” Wait a minute: soon? You know, I was very surprised when that realization hit. I thought, there was really nothing wrong with getting some water; I mean, water is a most basic need. But now that I think of it again, and the many cases of discontent that happen around us, I know it is the truth.

Having all that we need will never be enough if we are missing what is most important, because only God can truly satisfy and give contentment and true happiness. This might seem like a cliche, but it is the truth. God really is the one who makes everything else come together. Even the psalmist knew this. He said:

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget not all His benefits:

Who satisfies your mouth with good things,

So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

In ending, I just want to share two songs: one by the lovely CeCe Winans whom I admire very much; and the other, by Jimmy Needham whom I heard on Pandora for the first time a few weeks ago.

Much love.

JC ©2015

P.S.: I was nominated by a dear friend for a challenge to share a Bible verse everyday for 7 days. I hope that this post blesses you.

Leave a Comment

