Jesus in the Workplace


Before I go on, I would like to give a quick shout to all my readers, followers, and subscribers by email. You all are awesome.

My guess is that many readers will be offended by my chosen title on first glance. While I have not put this up to offend anyone, I recognize and accept that I inevitably will. Then again, this is my blog, a sort of personal space.

And now, speaking of personal space, I must mention that I have a bit of a problem. I find that I have recently become a “touch magnet” – if you will – for some people. I first noticed this when my engagement ring came off my finger just over a year ago. Apparently, some people took that to mean that inappropriate touching was welcome, seeing that I was suddenly single again. I recall being not so subtle about my disapproval of this new trend at my last job.

Call me a social pariah, but while I enjoy the occasional hug from friends and family, I am not big on touching other people – that is, unless my job requires that. So, you will have to forgive me if I do not smile or fake politeness when someone finds a new hobby of taking their admiration to the level of touching. This includes any kind of touching from members of the opposite sex who are non-friends, because I am used to friends knowing their limits. This also includes any kind of derriere-smacking or other similar touching from other females – because, again, I am used to friends knowing their limits.

Back to my title, I thought this post might be a great way to address a second issue.

I am a Christian, raised in the church and gone to church my whole life. And yes, such a thing as a personal relationship with Christ does exist – but that is not the point of this post. You see, being around people who use curse words A LOT really gets under my skin. I might as well have been around people who make a habit of touching! The thing is, I appreciate it when people know to use professional language in the workplace. And, while I understand that everyone is different, guess what? I have a right to free speech just like everyone else.

I tend to spontaneously break into song – mostly just humming a tune, if I am at work. I often wonder what it would be like to suddenly break into a “Jesus song” when people start to “cuss” incessantly around me. Now, that would be fun!

JC ©2017

One thought on “Jesus in the Workplace”

Leave a Comment

